Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Cub Scouts

Cub Scouts is for youth in the kindergarten through fifth grades, or 5 to 10 years of age. Children who are older than 10, or who have completed the fifth grade, can no longer join Cub Scouting, but they can join the Scouts BSA, Venturing or Sea Scouts program. When you’re a kid, fun comes first. Cub Scouts lets kids have fun while teaching them skills that will help them later on. From the thrill of shooting an arrow to learning how to transform a block of wood into a race car, Cub Scouts is one thrill after another. This program is tailored to match each age in a young child’s life, and shows kids that doing their best is the most fun of all.


A Program for Children in Grades K-5

Cub Scouts is a year-round program designed for children in Kindergarten to fifth grade. The program offers fun and challenging activities that promote character development, citizenship training and physical fitness. Cub Scouting helps parents become even better moms and dads.


While we encourage children to begin the program at the beginning of their Kindergarten year, they can become a Cub Scout at any time during their elementary school years.

  • Children are grouped by grade levels. (Kindergarten through fifth grade.)
  • Children are organized in teams (we call them dens) of 6-8 youth.
  • Our program offers group and at home activities.

Cub Scouts teams (dens) all gather monthly for a big family event which we call a pack meeting. (To understand dens and packs, think of a wolf pack and the family sized den groups that make up the pack.)  At pack meetings, children participate in fun games and educational activities. Leaders and parents recognize children for their recent achievements. The pack runs under the direction of a Cubmaster, den leaders, and a parent committee.

© 2021 Mawat District, Occoneechee Council - Boy Scouts of America | WordPress Admin
© 2021 Mawat District, Occoneechee Council - Boy Scouts of America
WordPress Admin